Skip to content

An interesting email…

October 2, 2011

I’ve been very interested to see the comments and emails which people send me.  I’d say that overall, the email I get on the city account, has been fairly supportive.  I’ve been very surprised by this, but I’ve enjoyed getting it.  My city email address is rclements@cowtx.org if you’d like to email me there.

The comments on the blog tend to run about 2 to 1 against my radical notions of limited government.  I’ve published every comment, even the ones that are acrimonious.  Many times, I enjoy them the most, as it gives me a chance to challenge the persons beliefs.

Last week, right before the last budget vote, I got an email that was very interesting.  He mentions an article in a local newspaper and names the author.  Knowing the nature of links and cross-links and their value for the paper, I’m going to edit them out, but otherwise post his email as it was written.

Oh, did you know that any correspondence sent to an elected official is subject to publication?  It is.  Check the Public Information Act. As a courtesy to Mr. Van Liew, I’ve removed his address, though a Public Information Act request would make it available.

 

Mr. Clements,

I just read an article today by [author’s name has been removed] in [some newspaper], I am appalled at your ignorance of the law in wanting citizens to carry weapons into City Council Meetings.

Maybe you should sit down with Mark Daniels, our City Attorney and have him explain some of the finer points of the Penal Code to you.

First it is a violation of the Penal Code Section 46.03 for any person to carry a handgun into a building that has court or court offices.

Second, there is clearly posted at every entrance a Penal Code Section 30.06 Sign which again prohibits a Concealed Handgun License Holder from carrying their weapon into the Watauga City Hall, which is clearly in violation of  the law.

I am all for Gun Rights, however it is poorly informed persons like yourself that make it almost impossible for any good Gun Rights to be allowed for law abiding citizens.

I,of all people should want to persons to be able to carry there weapons, as a Texas Concealed Handgun License Instructor. 

The views you have expressed in public forums has me deeply concerned about your ability to represent the citizens of Watauga  in a professional manner. I do not believe the type of left field thinking you possess, does any good for the citizens of this city, it only draws undue attention to yourself and have a negative impact on our City. If you need that kind of attention why don’t you go to Washington D.C and you will fit right in as a politician.

Just a reminder you were elected by the citizens of Watauga, on the coat tails of two other candidates and I feel quite certain we can find enough citizens to get you recalled from office.

However, why not be a man and admit your mistakes and resign, show a little character and Integrity.

 Thanks,
Curtis Van Liew

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

