Skip to content

Bringing the Courts Back Under the Constitution by NEWT2012

June 26, 2012

In general, I’m not a huge fan of Newt Gingrich. I think he’s a very intelligent man with a lot of experience and knowledge of history, both very useful tools for managing government. He strikes me as a moderate, someone looking for consensus on mitigations rather than radical reformation. I think the country is in need of radical reformation; or I might rather call it a radical return to our foundational principles.

I was referred to this article after hearing a presentation on WallBuilders about the judiciary. It’s taken me a couple of days to work through it. I read the bulk of the paper yesterday during lunch and I worked through most of the first appendix today at lunch during the break between sessions at the SkyWarn training.

I’d say that the paper does a great job of showing the centrist nature of Newt Gingrich. It would be a great solution if there were 50-100 years to undo the damage to the Constitution and liberties that America used to protect. I think I would argue that his solution is too little, too late and that the danger is far more acute than the solution allows for. Like putting a bandaid on an arterial cut.  It might make one feel better, but it’s not going to be effective.

His solution does nothing to explain how radical leftism will be removed from precedent and rolled back to a point where judges actually respect the constitution.

This is the kind of thinking that makes me think that Republicans are not up to the task of real reform in America. They present that they understand that the danger is significant and imminent and then propose solutions that just don’t deal with the issues at hand. If they really believed what they say, they’d have to be willing to present solutions that would actually deal with the issues at hand. They don’t.

It’s very sad to me. More and more, it seems that the Republican Party gets in the way of progress or correction as reforms will limit their power and influence in the future. They’d rather maintain the status quo which includes their power base than save the country. I predict that the Republican Party will implode in the next 3-9 years and be replaced by something else.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

