Skip to content

Review of the City Manager (part 1 of 7)

July 21, 2012

I just submitted this last week.  I checked to see that it was subject to the PIA (Public Information Act).  That combined with the fact that the City Manager has requested that his review be done in public have made me willing to post this.

I’ll post the review in 6 sections, 5 are specific areas of concern, the last is the summary.

This review has taught me a lot.  It’s explained a great deal about why real leadership can be such a difficult thing to do.  Dr. Neils has been very courteous and pleasant to me during the course of my time on the council.  It would have been far easier to write a glowing review and just go along to get along.  However, I don’t believe I’d be doing the city a favor by doing so.

One of the great things about Capitalism is that it allows the marketplace to provide negative feedback.  If you don’t like a product, don’t buy it.  The company loses profit and they then have incentive to change.

My hope in writing the review was not to castigate Dr. Neils, but rather to hold up a standard of performance that I think I deserve as a tax-payer.  I want someone looking out for me, covering my butt.  I can’t say that our City Manager represents that to me.  That’s not to say that he couldn’t, but I don’t think he’s there yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

