Skip to content

Councilman Johnson, what are you thinking?!!

August 2, 2012

Gary proposed a tax increase at the effective rate plus 1c last night.  I was quite disappointed.

It seems that part of his rationale was that we had cut the garbage franchise fee, so we could increase property tax rates.  I’ve already stated that I would be against a tax increase, including just going to the effective rate.  It seemed that most of the rest of the council was willing to consider it.

Tuesday, August 7 will be the next council meeting to discuss these things.  Come if you want some cheap entertainment.  I expect the session will go for quite a while.  During that time, our illustriuos Council will attempt to divine how much more of your money they should spend next year.

[An update on this post.  Councilman Johnson said at the meeting on Thursday, August 9, that he had misunderstood what was going to be covered by the budget and that he was no longer interested in pursuing the Effective Rate plus the 1c.  In large part, this was a misunderstanding.  However, I’d still take him to task for being so ready to throw the option on the table. Updated, Monday, 8/13/2012]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. d. novak permalink
    August 13, 2012 1:07 pm

    Gee – to think that a conservative politician might actually recognize that the municipality might need more revenue to provide needed services – kinda boggles your mind, doesn’t it.

    • August 13, 2012 4:01 pm

      Thanks for your comment. Why yes, it does, now that you mention it. I think Councilman Johnson has failed to examine the scope of the growth and coerciveness of our local government. When more people wake up to this, I have no doubt that it will boggle many people’s minds.

      I have a question for you: how much of my money should I be allowed to keep?

      • d. novak permalink
        August 14, 2012 12:40 pm

        Keep? “Keep” is an interesting term. After you’ve fed the war machine and funded national entitilements, fed your family, kept a roof over their heads and the lights on, and fulfilled your duties to maintain the community in which you live, I guess you get to “keep” the rest – that is, unless you choose to assist the less fortunate, support local non-profits or subsidize some worthless politician.,

      • August 14, 2012 2:55 pm

        Thank you for your further comments. 🙂

        I suspect that in many cases, you and I might be willing to agree on a wide array of topics. However, for the sake of time, I’ll constrain my feedback to those items which you have mentioned.

        I marvel that ‘keep’ should be an “interesting term”. I make the money. I create the value for my employer who compensates me for that value, though only after depriving me of that amount which my elitist taskmasters think I should be forced to pay to sustain the ideology they impose on me. I would be interested to know why ‘keep’ should be so interesting? Should you care to, I’d love to hear more about this.

        Frankly, I don’t make enough to pay federal income taxes, so I guess technically, I haven’t “fed the war machine”, though I do fund about $8,000 per year to pay for “national entitlements” which I have no expectation of ever receiving myself.

        I wonder how you would define the “duties to maintain the community in which [I] live”? Where would I look for the definition of those duties? Were they agreed to by me? How much say do I get in those “duties”? At the very least, I expect to be heard, which I have been deprived of for a very long time, though to be fair, that has been of my own doing.

        I can’t help but think I should muster a “Thank you” to such an elitist who has deigned that I get to “keep” the rest of my income, having paid to maintain the “duties” which such elites have chosen to define for me. Your graciousness is inspiring. I hope I may return the favor someday.

        I suppose then that I should be free to “assist the less fortunate” voluntarily, but only after having been forced to support those “less fortunate” that you elitist’s have already decided I must support. How very magnanimous of you. I typically do “support local non-profits”, especially those that seek to undo the damage that my forced participation through government has done. I support non-profits which seek to inform women of the dangers of abortions, non-profits which help find adoptive homes for babies rather than slaughter them for the convenience of the mother at the expense of my forced participation indirectly through tax subsidies. I’ve also taken great joy in supporting non-profits which seek to help people find jobs and improve their job skills after the government’s lunatic policies have extended the “recession” far beyond what it should have been. So, thank you again, for having deigned to allow me to work to undo the efforts of elitists and to then point people back to the Savior Jesus Christ who is able to redeem us from our sinful nature. If you do not know Him yourself, I would encourage you to read the Bible. You will likely find much to stimulate your mind and sooth your heart. If I may assist in that endeavor, please let me know.

        By the same token, I do use what I am left by my elitist overseers to support what I suspect you would call “worthless politicians”. People like Allen West who have been willing to stand up to political correctness and call our enemies by thier names: Islamists. People like Ron Paul who have stood in the way of “the political machine” by pointing out the limitations imposed on the Federal Government by the Constitution. Remember that document? The one which limits the powers of what the Federal government may do? I suspect you may not even be aware of such a document or worse, know of it only as a “living” document.

        With the stunning wealth of your political diatribe, perhaps you could run for an elected position yourself. Perhaps then, you could share your positions with the world. I would look forward to a more public exposition of the feebleness of your ideology.

        Thank you again for your comments. I must also commend you for having actually stayed on target and answered the question. Frankly, I doubted your ability to do so. I will look forward to more from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

