Skip to content

Obama 2016 – my review

November 1, 2012

I went to see this on opening day with a group of people from the North East Tarrant Tea Party.  I’m not sure what I had been expecting, but whatever it was, the movie wasn’t it.

The guy who is responsible for the movie, Dinesh D’Souza, is an immigrant from India.  I’ve heard of him before, but wasn’t really familiar with his writings or his work.

So, let me just tell you,  I don’t think Barack Obama was born in this country.  I am convinced by the evidence that I’ve seen that the birth certificate that’s been published is a fraud.  I’m also fairly baffled and amazed that Barack Obama would spend millions of dollars to hide his past.  I can’t think of any reason why someone would do this if they didn’t have something to hide.

For whatever reason, Dinesh D’Souza, chose not to mention any of this in his film.  I suspect the reason was to retain some sense of objectivity among those that might be moderates or Barak supporters but might be willing to be open-minded. Regardless of the reason, the movie assumes Barak was born in Hawaii.  I was disappointed in this, but kept watching the film.

By far the most fascinating aspect of the film to me was the interview with Barak’s ½ brother.  I don’t remember his name or anything else about him, but it’s worth the cost of admission to hear this brother’s take on colonialism and to see that Barak has distanced himself from his half brother.

I thought the movie was long on history, but very short on prediction.  For a movie named 2016, there was very little of the movie that was dedicated to pursuing the results of his policies to their ends.  There were some predictions made that are quite dire.  However, I thought they pulled a lot of punches in this area.  I think they spent such a lot of time on his past to be able to make the few predictions that were there have more potency.

Overall, this was a fascinating film. I think it’s well worth seeing.  The juxtaposition of Dinesh D’souza’s life as an immigrant and Barak’s was pretty interesting. The interview with Barak’s brother was the most intriguing aspect of the film to me.  For all the punches that were pulled, this is still a very interesting movie.  If you get a chance, I’d suggest you might enjoy seeing this movie (since you’re reading this blog). It’s out on DVD now and I understand is available to watch on demand, though I’ve not seen this myself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

