Skip to content

For Greater Glory – my review

November 4, 2012

I missed this one in the real theaters and it was only at the $1.75 theater for a week.  By the time I paid attention to it, it was out of theaters.  I bought it on DVD when it came out.

This one was a fascinating movie too. I think I’ve mentioned in this blog before that I was a History major at Texas Tech.  Despite that, and having taken a course on Latin American history, I don’t recall any of this history.

The people that did this movie had an ax to grind, that much was clear.  I can’t say I blame them, based on the content.

I can’t say that I enjoyed this movie. There was much about it that made me think.  The levels of involvement by the general populace was quite interesting.  The role of the priests in the movie was thought provoking.  The government was every bit of the jerks that I would expect them to be.  Both governments I might add; Mexican and American.  America was not very impressive in their resolution of the conflict.

After the movie, I was talking to a friend and we looked up some information on the president and it looks like there was a great deal of information that didn’t make it to the movie.  I’m sure that if the other side could have their say, it’d be a lot longer and not nearly so cut and dried.

The historical divide between government and the church, especially the Catholic church, has always been contentious.  The objections on both sides have been quite contentious and violent at times.  It was interesting to me that the priesthood of the church was so involved with people and their lives that losing them was sufficient to incite a civil war.

As my wife and I were discussing the movie (she didn’t see it), I told her I couldn’t believe that the church in America still has the significance and relevance that people would rise up and fight off the government for curtailing their religious rights.

In fact, I can say that beyond a shadow of a doubt, because lately, the government has been destroying those rights of conscience with reckless abandon and there has been little, if anything done about it.

Although it has yet to foment to the point of bursting, the seeds are being sown for some serious discontent if not outright revolt.  To be frank, I’m quite disheartened that it’s not started yet.  However, I don’t think that there’s anything that can be done to rectify the situation at this point.  Even if the Romney/Rand ticket were to win, I don’t see that the Republicans have the spine to deal with the issues and actually roll this nation back to a God-fearing, freedom-loving nation.  When the change does come, I expect that there will be a great deal of resistance from both sides that will tear this nation apart along religious/political lines.

God help us all.

Anyway, should you chose to get the DVD, I think you’ll find it quite interesting.  It’s disappointing how our nation doesn’t seem to have learned from history what we might have.  It can be quite illuminating to see how these events played out.

I have so much more to write about these concepts and ideas, but I’ll have to save it for another day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

