Skip to content

“Bethlehem Revisited” in Waxahatchie

December 9, 2012

http://waxahachiechamber.com/calendar/bethlehem.php

My family and I went to see this tonight.  It was a great time and well worth the trip.  I’m sorry that we only just heard about it, but apparently they do it every year.  This was the last of three weekends that it was showing.

I think the only thing that we were able to identify that wasn’t historically accurate was the cotton that was being given out just off the bowl.

I thought the most interesting thing about it was the tax collector.  Interaction with him was quite interesting.  I’m sure I wouldn’t do it justice, but it really made me think about the way the government collected taxes then as compared to now.

There was a synagogue booth that talked about how the coming Messiah was supposed to be a  mighty warrior.  I told my wife that I probably would have been longing for such a person myself and that had I lived in those times, I can’t help but wonder if Jesus would have been a disappointment to me.  God truly works in amazing ways.

My wife and I were discussing how many times the stories from the Bible get to be old hat with us.  We read about Herod killing all of the children under the age of two and hardly think about it at all.  What a travesty!  Both that we hardly think about how terrible that would have been to those Jews and also that many have become so immune to the terrors recorded for us.

As terrible as that was, I can’t help but think that a government that allows its people to kill their own babies for convenience and forces everyone else to pay for it can’t be any better.  In fact, in most respects, I’d have to say that our government is far more evil.

“For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us; And the government will rest on His shoulders; And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace. There will be no end to the increase of His government or of peace, On the throne of David and over his kingdom, To establish it and to uphold it with justice and righteousness From then on and forevermore. The zeal of the LORD of hosts will accomplish this.”  (Isa 9:6-7)

When I get bummed about the political lunacy that seems to be sweeping over our nation and the >100 year run it’s already had, I sometimes have to stop and remember that one day there will be a government on His shoulders and all these troubles won’t matter any more.  It’s a great feeling.  Until that day though, there’s a lot to try to get done.

Thank you for reading. I hope you know Jesus, the Christ, the Promised One of God.  If not, let me know.  I’d be willing to work with you to resolve that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2012 11:27 am

    Well said, my friend (and brother)! 🙂

    • December 10, 2012 1:23 pm

      Thank you for reading and thank you for your kind words. It’s a pleasure to hear from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

