Skip to content

Return letter to Mayor Pro Tempe after my statement about the Islam event

January 19, 2013

Thank you for your reply. I have taken the time to watch the video and I hope to understand the motivation for the event.

If I may, I will assume that you are my brother in Christ. I hope you will allow me to share with you some concerns about the event, as a brother in Christ, rather than a Councilman.

First of all, let me affirm, that we, as Christians are called to love our enemies. As I have done more study of Islam, I think that Muslims have a stupendous need for that love. As is the case with all man-centric ideologies, Islam is devoid of love. For that reason alone, it is possible that God will bless the event. If you, or any of the rest of our Council are there, I hope that you will be able to share God’s love in that way.

From a different perspective, I might also caution you to be aware of what you are inviting into your church home. I have heard some say that they believe that Islam and Christianity serve the same God. The verses I sent before were meant to illustrate that they do not. There are stunning differences between the God of the Bible and the author of Islam.

I was hoping that you (and the rest of your congregation) would be aware of some of the differences. They do not believe that Jesus was the son of God. In older, less politically correct days, this would be called heresy. Interestingly, in our days of moderation and tolerance (something that the church is condemned for in Revelation, if you recall) we do not use the word or even the concept of heresy.

Heresy is something that has become politically incorrect. It’s too bad. Heresy, at it’s core has an assumption that there is a God, that Jesus Christ is His son, that the Bible is the Word of God and that we all will be judged by the Word, by God and our eternal fate will be in the balance.

While the Bible admonishes us to love one another, it also tells us to be “wise as serpents and innocent as doves” (Matthew 10:16).

Did you know that one of the first military actions of this nation was against Islam? If you are familiar with the Marine Corps Hymn you may have read these lines “From the Halls of Montezuma, to the shores of Tripoli…” The shores of Tripoli mentioned in the song were the site of the first deployment of Marines after some pirates had kidnapped Americans and were holding them for ransom. Our Federal government built a Navy, manned the ships with Sailors and Marines and sent those Marines in to “negotiate” the return of those sailors. This country has had a long history of dealing with Islam.

Most people don’t know or remember about the Spanish-American war in which the United States beat Spain and took the Philippine Islands, Guantanamo Bay in Cuba and some other little holdings. In the aftermath of the Philippine “transfer” the US was at war with Muslims who fought against the US.

When I say that the United States has been at war with Islam since its [United States] inception, I am not exaggerating.

As a history major, I have been quite amazed at the extent to which conflict with Islam has defined the Western world. Do you happen to recall the three things which happened in 1492 which enabled Colombus to make his historic journey? Those three things were that the Iberian Peninsula was united (Isabella married Ferdinand uniting the formerly separate kingdoms), the war to push Muslims from the peninsula had finally been successful and thirdly, because of the peace and success at war, they finally had a surplus which the King and Queen were willing to invest in Colombus’ voyage. You might ask yourself, why would the King and Queen have been so willing to try to sail around the world? The answer is because the Muslims controlled the overland routes to the Spice Islands. Their fees for passage were so high that it made it economical for the Spanish and Portuguese to map the coast of Africa, and then sail around Africa to the Spice Islands. Doing so allowed them to avoid the fees that Muslims charged. Columbus’ journey was to have found a better, even more inexpensive route. However, neither of these would have been necessary, had it not been for the staggering fees charged by Islam to nonadherents.

This distinction, those in Islam and those not in Islam, is the primary distinction made in Islam according to the Koran. The landing site you sent me has this as part of the introductory material “The best of our faith, both as Christians and Muslims, teaches us that we must love all people.” There is no teaching in Islam that they are to “love all people”. This looks like the author was attempting to attribute to this false religion the peace and love which God the Father has called us to. That God is not part of Islam.

Even more concerning is that the paragraph equates Christianity and Islam as “faiths”. This characterization is false. Jesus was born of a virgin, his birth city (Bethlehem) was foretold in prophecy as was where he would grow up (Egypt), and that he would be called a Nazarene. Jesus raised the dead, caused the blind to see, made the lame walk. He was crucified, raised from the dead and will return one day. Islam has none of this. There were no prophecies about Mohammed. He performed no miracles. He had no oracles. His revelations are pathetic and contradictory. The efforts to collect his writings and teachings is almost entirely haphazard. Reading the Koran as compared with reading the Bible is like night and day. The Koran reads like some drunk person collected random passages and slapped them together. Compare that to any of the records of Jesus’ life.

Sadly, the legitimization of Islam that an association with Christianity brings, sullies the work of God and lends credibility to a work so devoid of love and wisdom that I cannot believe for a second that God would approve of this association, even if it opens doors to “love” someone. Islam has much to gain and much to cover over and anyone in Christianity who aids them to do so thwarts truth. I cannot see how God would appreciate that at all. In fact, we are told to “know the truth and the truth will set us free” John 8:32. Obfuscating the truth should not be something that Christians are doing.

This summer, I had the opportunity to read a book on the history of Islam. If I recall correctly, the name of it was “The Politically Incorrect Guide to History”. As a student at Texas Tech, my major was History. Most of my study was in European and American history (not just US, but central and south America, before and after the arrival of Columbus). Islam was largely white-washed during my studies. It’s only since I’ve been out that I’ve begun to understand what was hidden.

In addition to my readings, I’ve also had the opportunity to have enjoyed the friendship of a Muslim. I would say without any equivocation that he is one of the kindest, most pleasant, courteous human beings that I have ever encountered. He and I spent some time trying to understand each other. It was he who told me that Muslims do not believe that Jesus was crucified, that Jesus was not “The Messiah”, that Christianity and Judaism used to be Islam, but that they were corrupted.

I also have indirect dealings with missionaries in countries with a Muslim majority. To hear of the way Muslims treat Christians when such Christians have no real power, is quite illuminating. If you’d like to see confirmation, go look up what is happening to Coptic Christians in Egypt. Read about what happened in Lebanon after the Muslims took over there. Read what is going on in Indonesia. One website that I visited (ReligionOfPeace.com) has the pictures of what happens when Muslims take literally the words of their prophet and “Kill the unbelievers”.

If you’re still with me at this point, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to read this. I don’t expect to fully illuminate you in a single writing, but I do want to warn you against the dangers of this ideology.

In closing, I’d like to challenge you to recall who the foes of the United States were in World War 2. The Nazis: one might characterize them as pagan elitists who thought that they were special and should rule the world. The Communists: secular elitists who thought they were special and should rule the world. The Imperialists: religious adherents to an Emperor who claimed to be a God and promised to control their eternal fates if they would submit to his rule here. Do you happen to know which group fought almost to the man? If you said the Imperialist Japanese, you’d be correct.

Maybe my service in the Marine Corps makes me less objective, but the fighting in the Pacific theater was some of the most vicious, brutal and terrible combat seen in the war. There’s a reason that the United States was willing to use atomic weapons against them. It wasn’t just because we were tired of fighting, it was because they were so fiercely religious that they were not rational. I might also remind you that we had to hit them TWICE with atomic bombs before they were willing to surrender.

You may believe that I am crazy, but I’ll tell you anyway, that I believe that this century will be a century of warfare against Islam. Globally. It scares the crap out of me. I’ve tried to get more and more educated about Islam, and the more I’ve learned the more I am convinced of the reality of that assessment and the more fearful I am for the future of this country and the state that my children will inherit. If you need proof look to Europe to see how this will play out. In fact how it already is playing out. It started there with similar events like this one.

Educate yourself about Islam and the Koran. Compare it with the kinds of proofs that God gives us in the Bible. Compare the miracles of Jesus or the prophets of God to those of Mohammed. Compare the teachings of Mohammed to those in the law as given to Moses, the teachings from the prophets, Jesus’ teachings and see if you can find the same themes, the same calls for justice, mercy, truth and love.

While I do agree with you that Muslims desperately need God’s love, I think they also need to be judged by their fruits, the teachings of their prophet need to stand up to the same scrutiny the Bible has survived, and the power of their purported god and his revelation need to be measured against the world around us. If after having measured this, you still think your family needs to associate with them, then do so.

As for myself, I have no desire to associate with an organization which attempts to codify as a religion the base desires of man, or who’s god describes the sun setting into mud, or which so demeans women in every way that their very eternal well being depends on satisfying their husband.

Jesus himself said “Take heed, so that no one misleads you.” Mark 13:5.

There is much more I would love to write, but I have many things to do today. I will thank you again for the invitation and for your diligence in reaching out to these lost people. Also, I would encourage you to remember the parable of the wedding guests who ran out of oil and did not share with those who didn’t have enough. What you have is very precious. Do not squander it.

Be careful brother.

Sincerely,

Russell Clements

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

