Skip to content

I will be running for Mayor in the next election

February 19, 2013

I turned in my paperwork on Friday.

Here’s the place where you can see who’s running for office this time around.  http://www.cowtx.org/index.aspx?NID=574

There are presently four candidates for Mayor.

Hector Garcia – a very pleasant gentleman who was running for Mayor two years ago.  He was very generous with his time and was willing to talk to James, Gary and me at length about being good Council members.  He had some pretty serious health issues early in the campaign and wasn’t able to spend the time and energy on running or he might have beaten Mayor Jeffries.  While I respect Mr. Garcia, I don’t believe he is the man for the job.  Maybe it’s that his was one of the first signatures on the petition to recall me.  🙂

Joseph Zappavigna – I understand that this gentleman is running because he’s upset with the city about some kind of Code issue about signs.  Seems like a pretty lame reason to run, but who knows?

Robert Daniel – I believe he’s served for quite a while on the Parks Development Corporation.  Other than that, I don’t know anything about him.

One thing’s for sure, with this many candidates, I expect you’ll be able to find someone you can agree with.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joseph Zappavigna permalink
    February 22, 2013 2:43 pm

    It seems ‘pretty lame’ of you to make disparaging assumptions and to write about someone you know absolutely nothing about! If you are going to make comments about me at least have the decency to know what you are talking about. Joseph Zappavigna, candidate for Mayor of Watauga, Texas

    • February 22, 2013 3:30 pm

      Thank you for your comment. What a pleasure to hear from you. It is a pleasure to see that you are such an articulate opponent. Now that we may both be accused of being “pretty lame” why don’t you take the opportunity to expound on why you are running? Why not correct my “disparaging assumptions” with accurate information? Why not illuminate those who might choose to read this blog and these comments with some actual information? Here’s my take on your comment; you lack the leadership to be trusted with an elected position. If the best you can do is whine about what I’ve written about and fail to contribute anything useful to the conversation, why don’t you just do the taxpayers a favor and drop out of the race and let those with something of significant to say, do so without interruption.

      I’ll make you an offer. If you can string together a blog post about why you think you would be a good Mayor, I’ll publish it on my blog in its entirety, unedited. Or better yet, why not start your own blog. Here on WordPress, they are free. I’ll send you the information on how to do it.

      Let’s hear what you’ve got Joseph Zappavigna, candidate for Mayor of Watauga, Texas.

      Thank you for your comment. Thank you for reading. I hope that I may look forward to further comments from you.

      Russell Clements, Candidate for Mayor, City of Watauga

  2. Mrs. Cameron permalink
    April 15, 2013 4:20 pm

    Oh My Word;
    All I can say here is what a bully you are Mr. Clements, let me tell you a thing or two, I am about to voice my opinion here so sit down and read -YOU sir, DO NOT HAVE what it takes to even SIT in the Mayors seat. You have no professional appearance at all. Back woods attitude is not what we citizens need in a mayor. Nor would you be a good representation of Watauga at mayoral events, or any other events You are not mayor material you lack the appearances and compassion for your fellow man and woman of this city.
    This is what a LOT of Watauga citizens think when they hear the name “Clements” an out of control hillbilly with no common sense and a big bully attitude.. Now let me ask you a few questions that will be asked of you -What can you do for us Senior Citizens? WE ARE A PART OF THIS CITY AND SOME WHERE HERE LONG BEFORE YOU CAME ALONG. wE HAVE BEEN LEFT BEHIND WAY TOO LONG AND IT IS TIME THAT THE CITY HEAR US ONCE AND FOR ALL. Would you be ashamed to come by the Senior Center -sit have lunch -play some games-talk with us? We do not have a disease-we do not smell like OLD PEOPLE-we are like step children, always put in the back of the line when it comes to handouts for new buildings. Time and time again we get over looked. SO IF and I use that word lightly-IF your were Mayor what could you do for us? I can answer that in a second-Not a dang thing. Here are the ones who have come by to eat-visit-and talk with us:And remembers us more than some. Lets see if YOUR name shows up:
    Sarge and Roma Bowman-Councilmen Bob Davis- Mayor Jefferies. Now do you see YOUR name there. Nope.
    So I can assure you that the one man who can -does and will fill that seat is Joe Zappavigna. He has a professional attitude about him and is very clean cut and appearance wise he shows respect of others. He is caring and shows concerns for others and this city. And I believe he will be one,to fill the Mayors seat along side the new incoming council members. And I believe that some of them will come and share lunch with us -sit a while and hear us out. Would you roll up your sleeves and help build us a bigger place so more will come to share good things instead of throwing more paint onto the walls. There are stories-family photos to share. These are things no one else will ever live and see in your life time. The seniors of this city and rare gems and should be treated with the highest respect, somewhere along the way we got tossed aside.
    Best part is,we believe Joe Zappavigna he will have such compassion for us seniors and will come by more often-that MR Clements is what YOU LACK. Unprofessional in my book.

    Have a blessed week. And remember this is ONLY my opinion. More to follow from more seniors.

    • April 17, 2013 7:00 pm

      This is so good, I’m going to have to give it it’s own posting. You just can’t buy examples like this. 🙂

  3. Aaron New permalink
    April 27, 2013 3:39 am

    Tell us about yourself Russell. Why should I vote for you?

Leave a Reply

