Skip to content

“None of the above”

February 20, 2013

I don’t remember the name of the movie where I saw it, but I remember that there was a character who had to spend a lot of money in a short amount of time.  He ran for a political office, but instead of running as himself, he ran as “None of the Above.”

Someone told me that in Louisiana (I think) that “None of the above” is on every ballot.  If a voter thinks all of the candidates stink, they can vote for that and they call a new election.  I don’t know if it’s true or not, but I sure like the sound of that.  So many elections come down to a candidate that is pure crap or just light crap, but they’re both still crap.

One of the reasons I quit voting for Republicans many years ago, was that I finally got fed up with voting for the lesser of two evils.  It occurred to me that voting for the lesser of two evils is still voting for evil.  I vote for whomever I think is actually a good candidate and let the chips fall where they may.  A good friend of mine chastised me for this position as functionally being a vote for the worst evil. If good can’t be good enough, it’s not worth fighting for.

Some would say that Barak Obama has been the beneficiary of my vote and I would agree.  However, I believe that this nation can survive BHO and will come back with some actual conservatism to undo what he’s doing now.  I think that when the pendulum starts swinging the other way, that the ride will be quite exhilarating.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2013 1:12 pm

    You are more optimistic than I, my friend! 🙂

    • February 22, 2013 3:40 pm

      Thank you for your comment. I hope that my confidence is well placed. I see so much discontent with the way things are run, that I’ve got to think that people are going to quit taking it and get involved to change it. Several months ago, I read a book on “The Battle of Athens”. It is quite a fascinating story. To be clear, that is Athens, Tennessee, not Athens, Greece. I see home churches beginning to grow as people shirk off the lame and pathetic big church malaise and get to know God again. I see home schoolers taking control of the education of their children. America is still, FAR AND AWAY, the best country on the face of the planet. Many, if not most, Americans have an understanding of the God who has blessed this nation with such abundance and opportunity. I believe that God is calling those people back to himself and if it takes a civil war and/or a fiscal collapse to wake them up from their materialistic haze, I believe they will respond. My hope is in God and His amazing capacity for forgiveness and renewal and mercy, not in the political system or our political leaders.

      I don’t remember which prophet it was who told the people that God was going to test them with fire and separate the gold from the dross. I regret to say that our country has allowed a great deal of dross to obscure the gold which lies inside. I may hate the refining fire, but I’ll be glad to see the refined gold on the other side.

      Thank you for your comments. May God richly bless you and your family and protect you from the evil one.

Leave a Reply

