Skip to content

Humvees in Watauga? Really?

March 6, 2013

When I was first asked about these Humvees, I dismissed it as a ridiculous rumor.  What would our city need Humvees for?  I actually laughed out loud when the citizen asked me about it.  However, when they assured me they were serious, I was pretty taken aback.  Surely, our Police department wouldn’t foist military technology on the city without running it by the City Council?

I believe it was the next day, I went in and made an unscheduled visit on Chief Crawford, I mean Acting City Manager Crawford.  I was shocked when he told me that, yes indeed, the city did have two Humvees.  I believe the first question out of my mouth was asking if they could be transferred to the fire department.  My intent in asking was to have them used for practicing putting out a vehicle fires.  Well, two vehicle fires.   The Chief, I mean Acting City Manager, then told me that we couldn’t do so because there were strings attached to the “gift” from the Federal Government.  I was fairly taken aback by this revelation too.  Surely the Chief of Police wouldn’t be authorized to commit the City to some kind of program which involved strings about what we could do with the vehicles?  Surely, not!

I asked Acting City Manager Crawford to get me the details on the strings, the costs and other aspects of the program.  When I hadn’t heard back from him prior to the Council meeting, I asked the Chief of Police to give a report on the vehicles.  He did.  Frankly, I appreciate his candor.

So, what was the justification for getting two more vehicles?  Military vehicles? Recruiting was the first answer.  I’m a fairly concerned about the kind of person that would join the Police to drive a military vehicle.  The next answer was that we can use them for getting across terrain that other vehicles can’t. Like when we’re searching for a kidnapped child.  Ouch.  I was actually surprised that this was given.  With a straight face even.

With the department of Homeland Defense now having enough ammunition to go to war against America for many, many years, I’m less and less willing to give the government, especially my own, the kind of leeway to own military vehicles.  I suspect that this is part of a program to pre-stage vehicles so that in the event of some kind of trouble, that the Feds can swoop in and take them over and have it look like a “local” response.  Will these be next?  http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2013/03/obama-dhs-purchases-2700-light-armored-tanks-to-go-with-their-1-6-billion-bullet-stockpile/

Did you know our Police department also has AR15s?  What does a police department, patrolling 4 square miles need AR15s for?  Why not have a 12 guage shotgun firing 00buck (9 pellets per shot)?  Surely the liability from those 9 pellets that travel 100 yards or so is FAR less than a .223 round that fired from ANYWHERE in our city will travel through possibly two more cities before stopping.  Whose idea was that?

These are not good ideas.  Militarizing the police is a terrible idea.  If something comes up that they can’t handle, they should start deputizing people until they’ve got the manpower and/or firepower to deal with whatever arises.  Government can’t be trusted with that level of power.

Interestingly, I got a packet from the City Secretary today about the Hummers.  I’ve put out some questions about it and hope to have some more information to report on it in the very near future.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. john permalink
    March 6, 2013 11:26 am

    You have common sense, unusual in this land. The mile wide town should reconsider how they squander the money usurped from the very poor citizens there.

    • March 6, 2013 7:40 pm

      Thank you for your comment. I regret to say that your observation that common sense is unusual in this land has a growing validity that scares me. I just talked to a gentleman today who was tutoring an 12th grade honor student that couldn’t say who Abraham Lincoln was or when slavery ended in the United States. It is such a tragedy that this country has slipped so far from her moorings into a typhoon of political correctness, misinformation and ignorance, blind to the lessons of history and the principles of limited government that our founding fathers sought so diligently to enshrine for us.

      Thank you for your comment and thank you for reading.

  2. Robert permalink
    May 27, 2013 12:54 pm

    Shotguns have been conisdered outdated over many years. They are great for deer hunting, trench warfare and some cases home defense. However, most people want a AR-15 for home defense its easier to use, more accurate and safer to use than a shotgun when innocent people are around someone such as an active shooter.. The first repsonding officers are the best hope to stop an active shooter so you want them to blast pellets everywhere? Shotgun pellets will only stop someone at point blank range or in a enclosed space such as a trench. Of course I hope no innocent people are around. Slugs are better but again a shotgun is so out of date with racking it and limited rounds and harder/slower to reload. Most police departments have rifles and some have had them since the 1960s with the M1 Carbine for example. Some officers even buy their own rifle for patrol.

    Military rifles and guns have been loaned or given to police departments for over hundred years. It started as vet bringbacks from the civil war, tommy guns from the 1920s and continued to today.

    • May 30, 2013 4:27 am

      Thank you for your comment and thank you for reading.
      I’m going to disagree with you on almost every count. “Shotguns have been considered outdated over many years.” By whom? There is no other weapon I’d rather have for close quarters combat than a shotgun. I wouldn’t be willing to consider them outdated at all. If anything, as models with detachable box magazines are becoming more and more available, their popularity is exploding. I wonder if you’ve ever patterned a shotgun at different ranges? Even using birdshot, a light weight pellet load, at 25-30 feet, the spread isn’t wider than a persons hand.
      An AR-15 for home defense? I’m not going to say that’s a terrible idea because I’ve had such a rifle as my home defense weapon, but only until I could afford a good shotgun. Having been trained in the use of the M16 while in the Marines, I can tell you that I have a fair regard for the weapon system. I wouldn’t want to use a rifle for home defense because of the excessive penetration and the max effective range going out so far. I don’t mean to be disparaging of our Police and Military, but the VAST majority of rounds fired by officers and soldiers miss their intended target. As a civilian, I’m liable for all of those bullets, whereever they end up. As a City, the taxpayer is liable for all of those bullets and the destruction that they cause. The great advantage of a shotgun round as compared to a rifle round is that the shotgun round loses energy so much more quickly. It allows a defender to fire with far less regard for over-penetration than a rifle round.
      I’ll leave that issue though and discuss your final paragraph. I won’t argue with any of your points here except to point out that when these weapons were given to Police departments, they were also legal for normal citizens too. There did not exist then the huge disparity between the arms a civilian might employ and those weapons deemed suitable for law enforcement personnel. I suspect that you would be far more tolerant of this arms disparity than I would be, having a higher level of confidence in LEOs than I do.
      I am grateful that you’ve read the blog and more so that you commented. I appreciate the opportunity to discuss the topic.

Leave a Reply

