Skip to content

A Tale of two candidates…

April 17, 2013

‘Meet and Greet Joe Zappavigna, candidate for Mayor of Watauga.”

“Enjoy a cup of coffee and a slice of pie!  Join Joe, Saturday, April 20th from 2-3pm at Joe’s Coffee Shop on Highway 377”

I got this flyer from Joe Zappavigna sometime this week, or possibly last week.  It’s so forgettable that I can’t even recall when I got it.

The first thing I noticed is that Joe’s not willing to mention anything that he’s for.  Hmmm.  So, what would a voter get with Mr. Zappavigna?  Who knows?  This is another great example of his poor communication and lack of vision.  (The first for me was his weak response to my critique of why he was running.) At least he’s consistent.  Thank God this guy’s got someone intelligent to run against him: Bob Daniel.

The second thing I noticed is that Joe’s so incompetent that, despite the best efforts of the City Secretary, Joe failed to note that political mailings are required by law to have the notice that “Political ad paid for by…”.  I guess Joe couldn’t be bothered to read the copies of the election law that were included with the candidate packet.  I wonder if he knows that as Mayor, he’ll be required to sign contracts and actually conform with the law on behalf of the City.  Were I a vindictive turd, I’d turn him in to the County Prosecutor, but I suspect it would be a waste of effort for all the parties involved.

I’m sure that this mailing is a great representation of what one would get from Joe.  I’m disappointed that I won’t be able to attend Joe with Joe at Joe’s.  I’d dearly love to hear what Joe would have to say.  If someone goes and would like to share, I’d love to hear about it. 🙂

Contrast Joe’s weak performance with the flyer from Bob Daniel.  Bob starts out with  a section titled “Who Am I?”.  By the time I’m done reading this section, I’ve got some kind of idea who he is.  “I am a Christian, husband, father, grandfather, conservative and a concerned citizen.  I have been married to my wife, Barbara, for 23 years.  I have lived in Watauga for 10 years and was a substitute teacher in the district for 5 years.  I have also served on the Parks Development Corp. for the last 8 years, and am on the Board of Directors at a local Credit Union.”

!!Hoorah!! So, Bob’s got some experience with City Government.  Joe?  Oh, yeah, Joe didn’t tell us anything meaningful in his mailing.  Bob’s got some leadership at a Credit Union.  Joe?  I don’t know.  I guess you’ll have to go buy coffee to find out.  Or, just choose someone with some experience and credibility:  Bob Daniel.

Oh, and look, Bob must have actually read the Candidate Packet because he’s got the required disclaimer that this is a political ad.  Maybe Bob’s experience with government is already paying off.

Good luck Joe.  You’re going to need it.   Mr. Daniel, thank you for being in this race and giving the residents of Watauga a worthwhile candidate to vote for.  May God bless you and your campaign.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

