Skip to content

Texas bans Drone Surveillance?

June 5, 2013

It’s passed the House and Senate, it’s just up to the Governor now to sign it.

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=83R&Bill=HB912 That’s where you can follow it.

I’m a member of two Tea Partys, but I’ve not heard either one of them discuss this bill. I think it needs to be passed to protect the residents of this State from the over-reaching of the government. There are lots of exceptions for local PD as you would expect, because they don’t give a crap about privacy just so long as they get to play with their toys. Just like every piece of law enforcement tech, it’ll start off being a great thing and used only for felonies. Until they get more of them and have to justify why they’re spending all that money on them. Then they’ll start using them for tracking down parking tickets and code enforcement. I’d rather see them banned entirely, but at least it’s a start.

I don’t know that it has any teeth in it. I’ll see if I can’t find out if it authorizes the Texas Air National Guard to shoot them down or funds any anti-air capabilities to actually get rid of offenders’ property. I tend to doubt it, but I’ll reserve judgement until I’ve taken the time to do the research on it.

Stephanie Klick is listed as a Co-Author. !!Hoorah!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

