Skip to content

D-Day and another anniversary

June 6, 2013

June 6 was the jumping off point for the invasion of Europe during WW2. I wanted to explain that because I’m constantly surprised how many people don’t know that. Last year I talked to several people that had no idea. It’s kind of sad to me.

There are several interesting movies that have that invasion in it. Saving Private Ryan comes to mind immediately. There’s an HBO mini-series called Band of Brothers that is quite excellent that covers the actions of a unit of paratroopers dropped behind enemy lines to disrupt response to the invasion. I’ve enjoyed it.

As excellent and enjoyable as it is to ponder such things, I wanted to consider a different anniversary. It was the anniversary of the marraige between my grandmom and my granddad. They were married for over 50 years.

There’s a verse in Proverbs that I’ve come to hate.
“Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city.” (Pro 16:32)

I hate this verse because it’s 180 degrees from where I’d like to be as a person. Yet, I can’t think of a better description of my grandparents than patient. They lived significantly below their means. They lived in the same house for almost all of the 50 years of their marraige. They bought cars and kept them for 20 years at a time. My granddad was an elder in the church and worked with many many families during his time there. During WW2 was granddad was told he couldn’t enlist because he was a farmer and as such, needed to be raising the food that the country was going to need.

I regret that I did not really begin to understand the value of the stability of his patience, of their patience. The example they gave me was invaluable. I didn’t begin to realize it until after he’d been dead for a couple of years. Now, as a dad, I can better understand the sacrifice and discipline that it takes to lead such a “patient” life. I regret that I didn’t get more opportunity to see him with my educated eyes.

I’m grateful to God for the opportunity to have known my wife’s grandfather, Walter Woods. He and his wife had a similar patient life. I’m glad to be able to say that by the time they came into my life, that I was far more aware of the value of their example. I had a chance to know him after having been a father for some years. I’ve written of my appreciation of him and his wife and thier relationship.

I understand the appreciation that is given our veterans and they earn every bit of it. I think there are also a lot of people, especially our senior citizens that are worthy of the same kind of respect, if not more, for their patient lives.

God bless those who live patient lives.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

