Skip to content

An Interesting Development

August 22, 2013

I plan to run against Congressman Burgess in the Republican Primary during the next election cycle (which is starting now). I’m in the process of making that happen and I’d like to ask for some assistance on several different fronts.

The first is to be in prayer that I will be able to run a great campaign and do the best that I can. There’s a lot to learn and I’m doing so as quickly as I can.

Secondly, it’s going to take a lot of time and energy from a wide array of people to make this happen. Before I can file as a candidate for the office, I’ve got to have a committee whose job it will be to coordinate my campaign. One of the most important persons in this committee will be the Treasurer. Obviously, this will be a very important role. I’d greatly appreciate your prayers for putting together the right people to make this campaign as successful as possible. If volunteering your time and talents would be something you’d be willing to do, I’d love to talk to you about it. If you know someone who might be willing to help, I’d love referrals. Also, this will be a big impact on my family and I’d especially ask for your prayers for them.

Thirdly, I’m going to need money to make it happen. Many things just can’t be done without funds to cover the expenses. Even something as simple as going to an event costs me money to drive there. When I ran for City Council, I paid for the whole campaign myself. My wife and I have been fronting as much of these expenses as we can, but now that I’m going to be a declared candidate, I just can’t keep up with the outlays. As far as the money goes, I’d ask for two things: please pray that enough people will be motivated to give and secondly, if you are able to do so, make a donation yourself. I can start spending now to get key infrastructure in place now. I’m going to need a website, fuel for transportation and other real costs. I’ve got some opportunities to attend some training events hosted by conservative groups for minimal amounts of dollars, but they’re not always in Dallas. There’s one I’d like to go to this weekend, but it’s in Houston and I don’t have the money to go.

If you would be willing to help me out on any of these fronts, I would GREATLY appreciate it. It’s going to be an interesting time. Your prayers and assistance would be GREATLY appreciated.

Russell Clements

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

