Skip to content

Lone Survivor – thoughts on it having seen the movie

April 17, 2014

It’s at the $1.50 theater, so if you want to see it, now’s a great time. (or it was when I wrote this).

It’s an interesting movie.  I’ll probably see it again, but before I bought it on DVD, I wanted to see it on a giant screen with killer sound.  I’m glad I did.

There’s a lot of profanity in the movie.  I don’t particularly care, but some may have some sensitivities to this.  I’m not sure I could get my wife to watch it.

If the movie is accurate, which I’ll have to take at face value since I really don’t know, there were several aspects of it which really pissed me off.

First of all, the Rules of Engagement.  If you’re not familiar with the Rules of Engagement our troops operate under over there, you really owe it to your country to find out about them.  Anyone who has forced these troops to fight under these ROE should be tried for treason, and when convicted, shot immediately.  Anyone who wants to use the military for anything other than killing and destroying and annihilation is a damn fool and unfit for leadership in the military or in civilian government.  Here’s how it should work.  Once the decision is made to unleash the hounds of hell (use the military), one must be willing to live with the crazy crap that will happen in war.  It’s not pretty.  It’s not nice.  Just get it done until the enemy sues for surrender.  Negotiate terms favorable to your nation and get the hell out.  The whole point of having a military is so that enemies will think twice about going to war with us.  Let them do their job.  (Just for the record, I think being over there is a dumb idea and we should get out.  Sell their non-Mohammedist people all the arms and ammunition they can buy and let them take care of their own problems.)

Secondly, the debate over how the news would run a story about killing shepherds was just tragic.  That should never be a consideration for a field commander.  Do your job – destroy the enemy, and then go home. Let the politicians worry about the news coverage: it’s their war.

I wondered why there wasn’t an AWACS or something overhead to relay comms.  It seems like it would have been easy to have a drone with a radio in relay mode to facilitate comms.  What do I know?

I’ve never been in combat.  Never even close.  I’ve never had to make a call like that.  I think though, if an ex-Marine Reservist may speculate on such things, that I would have killed the shepherds.  Not out of malice per se, but for two reasons:  1) to accomplish the mission and 2) to protect my team-mates.  They had at least one suppressed weapon, so they could have gotten away with it.  The radio on the shepherd would have done it for me.  Anyway, it doesn’t matter what I think.

I cried when each of those Americans were depicted being killed.  What a waste of life!  To have been out there without the appropriate support is just unthinkable.  It is a tragedy that the leaders who make such decisions are rarely in the position to pay the price for their lack of foresight.

During the rescue scene, I could have jumped up and cheered.  Seeing that AC-130 unleash holy hell on those combatants cheered my soul as I just couldn’t tell you.  The Apache’s on their strafing runs was sheer bliss.  May all the enemies of freedom and tyrannical religious bigots meet the same fate.

It’s well worth seeing.

If anyone knows, I’d be interested to know if the terrain was actually like Afghanistan or not.

Another thing that interested me was the guy the helped the “Lone Survivor”.  I think the movie attributes his help to something called “Pashtunwali”.  I’d never heard of it.  When I got home, I looked it up on wikipedia (an often times dubious source for information).   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pashtunwali.  Here’s the introductory paragraph:

Pashtunwali (Pashto: پښتونوالی‎) or Pakhtunwali is a non-written ethical code and traditional lifestyle which the indigenous Pashtun people follow.[1][2] It could be said that it is simply a system of law and governance from the prehistoric times when humanity was completely illiterate or unable to use written instruments such as books, and is preserved and used up until modern times but mostly in the rural tribal areas. Some in the Indian subcontinent refer to it as “Pathanwali“.[3] Its meaning may also be interpreted as “the way of the Pashtuns” or “the code of life”.[4] Pashtunwali dates back to ancient pre-Islamic times and is widely practiced among Pashtuns,[5] especially among the non-urbanized Pashtuns in the countryside. In addition to being practiced by members of the Pashtun diaspora, it has been adopted by some non-Pashtun Afghans and Pakistanis that live in the Pashtun regions or close to the Pashtuns, who have gradually become Pashtunized over time.[4]

So, what I got from that is that they are not Mohammedists.  That was interesting.  I hope our troops are arming the hell out of these people so that when we leave these non-Mohammedans can defend themselves against Mohammedofacists.  [I think I just made that word up.  Cool eh?]  I understand though, that our troops are disarming EVERYONE so that when our forces leave, the Mohammedofascists will wipe out everyone else and the country will be in worse shape than when we got there.  That seems counterproductive and wasteful of our troops and treasure.

Go see it while you can still see it on the big screen with excellent sound.   http://www.cinemark.com/theatre-detail.aspx?node_id=1467  Looks like it will be there for another week at least.  Or, buy the DVD.  http://www.amazon.com/Lone-Survivor-Mark-Wahlberg/dp/B00HEPE6MM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

