Skip to content

A clarification on Representative Stickland’s tax proposal

May 15, 2014

I sent a link to my blog post on the transportation event to Representative Stickland and his District Manager, Nicole Paulette, and Representative Klick.  I also included the section called “Solutions”.

Ms. Paulette was kind enough to actually read the blog post and reply with a correction pertaining to the new car sales tax.

Here’s what she wrote:

“Just to clarify, Representative Stickland wasn’t talking about ‘raising taxes’  on the new car sales tax. He was saying that he would like for the new car sales tax revenue to be designated to funds for transportation.”

So, I misunderstood his position and misreported it.  I’m glad for the clarification and the opportunity to set it right.

In case that’s not clear, his position is that he wants the sales tax from the sale of a new vehicle to go into the transportation fund instead of the general fund as would typically happen.

That seems to be a far more rational position to take and I think I could support that.

District Manager Nicole Paulette also sent me a link to the PowerPoint files, but I haven’t gotten around to getting them downloaded yet.  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll get that done.

Kudos again to Representative Stickland and his District Manager Nicole Paulette for listening and paying attention to constituents.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

