Skip to content

Blind Loyalty

May 24, 2014

This is a section of video from a planning workshop on water infrastructure back in 2012.  It’s interesting for several reasons, but one of the most important to me right now are two things:  1. the details that the water system in our town costs $6 million to run (including water, drainage, sewage)  and the PD budget is about $7 million and 2. the ludicrous claim by Larry Irving that without the police, the participants in the room would have been shot before they could even make it to the meeting.

For those that might not know, Larry Irving was a retired police officer if I remember correctly.  At the time, he was working for NRH as a bailiff or something.  Now he works for the City of Watauga, or did when I last heard.

When I ran for City Council, I ran against Larry Irving.  I’m glad I did.  I’ll go on record and say that this man is a complete idiot and unworthy of trust by the public.

At the time, the question I posed was, “Does the city get more value from its police department ($7 billion dollars) than its water system ($6 billion dollars).”  I said then and I’d say now that we’re paying far too much  for our police department.  The Mayor and Larry Irving disagreed.  I’d say even now that were the PD budget cut in half, it’d be far more than the value that the community derives from the Police.

What do you think, dear reader?  Do you get more value from the Police Department than the water, drainage and sewer system?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Larry Irving permalink
    May 27, 2014 4:00 pm

    I think by now every one is aware of what type of man Clements is.

    • May 28, 2014 3:27 pm

      Thank you for your comment Larry.

      I wish I could say that the content of your comment was surprising, but it’s exactly what I would have expected. I showed your words as the insane babblings of an incoherent person and you attempted to cast aspersions on me. The “ad hominem” repost: the respite of fools who lack anything of substance to say.

      Why didn’t you choose to defend your comment that without the police department, we would have been gunned down before we could get to the meeting? I hope it’s because you were able to see the nature of the insanity and chose to position yourself away from it.

      I hope you’re not still leading a group of God’s people; for their sake and yours. Please, look to your soul and educate yourself before you stand before the Judge. James 3:1 says “Be not many of you teachers, my brethren, knowing that we shall receive heavier judgment.”

      Thank you for your comment. You’ve only reinforced my already dismal opinion of you. I’m glad you did it in public for those that care to see.

Leave a Reply

