Skip to content

A new reason to despise the NRA

June 13, 2014

I was having a conversation with a friend of mine about why I’m not a member of the NRA, even though I’m a huge proponent of an armed populace. I’ve been disgusted that they don’t ever offer to work to repeal the 1968 Gun Control Act or the 1934 Firearms Control Act. Why not get us back to the type of freedom that was around during the Revolutionary War period when the armaments of the civilians outclassed those of the British Regulars? I’d be all for it.

Anyway, before this turns into a diatribe against their money-grubbing fear-mongering, my friend mentioned that he thought Wayne LaPierre got paid $400,000 per year. For what? Well, turns out my friend was wrong. He sent me the article from which he got his information. Here it is for your perusal.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/danbigman/2012/12/21/what-the-nras-wayne-lapierre-gets-paid-to-defend-guns/

As for salaries, fifty-six people in the organization earned more than $100,000 in 2010—and 10 made more than $250,000. Lapierre does not top the list. Kayne B. Robinson, the executive director of general operations does. He was paid just over $1 million. Lapierre was second, pulling in $970,000 in reportable and estimated comp.

Chris W. Cox, the executive director of the group’s lobbying efforts, was third. He earned just over $666,000.

I’ll have to print this out to have handy at home the next time I get one of their fund-raising calls.  I don’t care enough to take the time to figure out how many memberships it takes to cover these costs, but it’s a lot!

I’m a huge fan of finding good candidates and giving to them directly.  Cut out the middlemen and their million dollar salaries and go straight to the elected official.  Let them talk to you, not some mouthpiece who’s more interested in FUDD so they can raise money than getting more freedom to you.

GRRRRRRRR!! This kind of thing infuriates me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2014 8:17 am

    So, Russell, what do you really think about the NRA? 🙂

Leave a Reply

