Skip to content

“America” a movie by Dinesh Desouza

September 2, 2014

I went to go see this with my family last week. We went to the $1.50 theater by our house. I was prepared to hate it. I saw his last movie “Obama’s America 2016” http://www.amazon.com/2016-Obamas-America-Dinesh-DSouza/dp/B0094V8OXG in which I thought he had pulled a lot of punches and was frankly disappointed by that. It was still worth seeing, but not nearly the powerhouse I had been hoping for.

http://www.cinemark.com/america Looks like it’s already out of theaters, so you’ll have to look for it on DVD or Blu-Ray.

I would recommend this movie. In fact, I’ll probably buy a copy of it.

The opening scene was a good one. It was done in such a way as to suck in the audience and I think it did a great job of that. My son leaned over and said to me “That’s not what happened.” I was glad he was paying attention enough to know. 🙂

I was impressed with the way he set up many of the arguments against America and then took major shots against them. I thought some of the answers could have been meatier, but given the constraints, I thought it was well done.

One of the most impressive aspects of the movie was that the rebuttals and then the information that followed were using the very words of the antagonists themselves. Some of the scenes should have been clarified as someone not well informed may not have known what they were. For example, I had to explain to my son what the NSA data center was as the picture showed a building in the desert, but didn’t explain what it was.

I don’t want to give a lot away about the movie as I think the reveals are quite well done. I would have liked to have seen far more brutality done with the information as it was revealed, but I think Dinesh Dsouza is going to for a wider audience and such brutality might turn them off. I can wish though! 🙂

I was disappointed in the last several minutes of the film as it showed a lot of the same stuff from the beginning and didn’t seem to accomplish much with it.

Overall, I’m glad I’ve seen the movie and glad I took my family. I’m anticipating the movie on DVD as I’d like to do more to support it. I’m also very glad that Dinesh Dsouza has made this movie and is achieving some success with it. May God richly bless him.

If you go to see it or have already gone to see it, I’d enjoy hearing your take on it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

