Skip to content

New book on Congressional Unfunded Mandates

September 8, 2014

If you’ve been reading this blog for very long, you’ll know that this is a HUGE pet peeve of mine.  I HATE unfunded mandates with a fiery purple passion.

The first link is to an interview with the author.  It’s quite interesting.  The article of the post is:  “Congress, Extortion and Unfunded Mandates”.  I laughed out loud when I read it. 🙂  http://mises.org/daily/6801/Congress-Extortion-and-Unfunded-Mandates

I was going to put some excerpts in my article, but the whole thing is great reading, so just follow the link and read the story.

Here’s a link to the book on Amazon.  If someone wants to buy the book and read it and then share it with me, I’d love to do a review of it.  Or, if you’d just like to buy me a copy, I’d love to read it and review it. 🙂  http://www.amazon.com/Mandate-Madness-Congress-Localities-Privilege/dp/1412853729#

Russell Clements

5729 Hanson Drive

Watauga, TX 76148
Here’s a little something from when I was on Council.  The City of Watauga was buying a $200,000 street sweeper because to not do so would be a violation of some EPA regulation.  I proposed that we just blow it off until the EPA ponied up the bucks to pay for the street sweeper.  The City Manager replied that they could fine the City $10,000 per day that the City was not in compliance.  I asked what they could really do?  Come take the City property?  Couldn’t the City just hold out and get other cities and tax entities to resist these stupid unfunded mandates, that the EPA wouldn’t be able to take us all down.  Of course, I was outvoted, but this kind of crap can only go on as long as municipalities and others play along.  I’d say it’s long overdue to just quit pretending that we care what they think.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

